This past week has been one that just seemed like it was never going to end. However terrible this week was though, there was one thing that made it a little better: so much new music being released. I always feel like bands and artists all seem to release new stuff in clumps, and now seems to be the beginning cycle of this. Linkin Park started the trend this week dropping a new single on February 16, followed closely behind by a new New Found Glory single the same day. The trend continues with a new All Time Low single on the 17th, as well as a new Ed Sheeran song. Read below for a review of the new songs!

Linkin Park- “Heavy” feat. Kiiara

Linkin Park have not released new music since 2014 with The Hunting Party. So naturally, new Linkin Park music is a pretty big deal for any fans of the band, and the release of “Heavy” got a lot of people excited. I think the most important thing to take away from this review, is that I genuinely do think that this song is good. I think it was well done, and I think that the combination of Chad Bennington’s voice and Kiiara’s worked very well together. This being said, had this song just been playing on the radio, I would not have known it was Linkin Park. It’s just such a different sound then what we are used to hearing from them. Especially this following up The Hunting Party, which was one of the heaviest albums they’ve put out. “Heavy” is a much slower song, carried by piano and heavy backbeat. It is fair to say that this song is very poppy, unlike what you would expect from Linkin Park. All in all, I think the lyrics of the song are very well done, as are the vocals. We get to see a different side of Chad Bennington’s voice on this track, and personally it was something I enjoyed listening to. Every album always has a slower, deeper track, and “Heavy” might just be this ones. Regardless, I’m excited to see what they have in store for the rest of the album.

Linkin Park’s new album, One More Light, is scheduled to be released May 19th.

New Found Glory- “Happy Being Miserable”

New Found Glory is the pop-punk band that will never die. “Happy Being Miserable” is the first single to be released from their anticipated ninth studio album. New Found Glory have a very distinct sound, most likely to due to their lead singer, Jordan Pundik’s very distinct voice. Nevertheless, this song encapsulates exactly what I expected from NFG. Unlike other bands, it seems as though their sound never truly evolves, but rather it just grows from what was already created. “Happy Being Miserable” is pure New Found Glory, pulling you in with a strong guitar riff, that is found throughout the song and makes you bob your head while listening. The song has a very heavy pop element to it, possibly a bit more than we are used to hearing from the band. Regardless, the song is catchy, and if you actually listen to the lyrics, they’re pretty well done. And because New Found Glory are essentially just children trapped in adult bodies, the music video that accompanies this song is, well, unique to say the least. And also kind of gross, just a warning.

New Found Glory’s new album, Makes Me Sick, is scheduled to be released April 28th.

All Time Low – Dirty Laundry

All Time Low is known for being a more light-hearted, fun and upbeat band. Their last album Future Hearts, was released in 2015, showcased that throughout the tracks, and the band saw monumental success following it. So I was a bit surprised when I first listened to this song. It takes a much darker direction then I would’ve expected from this band. Its very mellow, and honestly, very slow at the beginning. The first half of the song is practically only a heavy drum beat and electronically synthesized music. Not to mention, the vocals within the first half of the song are incredibly calm, very even and soft. It’s in the second half of the song, however, where the pace picks up. The bridge sees the introduction of the electric guitar and bass, and the background beat picks up. The vocals also pick up drastically, actually gaining volume and depth, which I was so thankful for, because frontman Alex Gaskarth’s voice was not being showcased nearly enough in the first half of the song. It’s clear from this song that the band is taking their music in a new direction, I’m excited to see what the rest of their album will be like.

All Time Low have not yet released the name or release date of their newest album.

Ed Sheeran – How Would You Feel (Paean)

In honor of his own birthday, Ed decided to give us a gift, the release of a new song “How Would You Feel.” In his tweet, Ed made it clear that the song will not be the next single, but it is one of his favorites of the new album. And I can’t disagree with him, this song is so good. The video uploaded was of Ed performing the song live, and in simple Ed Sheeran fashion, the only instruments in this song was a piano, an acoustic and Ed’s amazing voice. It’s a ballad and a love song, and I think I fell even more in love with him after listening to this. My favorite thing about Ed, well one of my favorite things, are his lyrics. They always, without fail, are so beautifully and perfectly strung together. I don’t know how he does it time and time again, but this song is absolutely no different, the lyrics to this song are absolutely gorgeous. How would I feel if you told me you loved me Ed? I’d feel pretty damn great. I hope whatever lucky girl inspired these lyrics knows how she lucky she is, cause if this song was written about me, I’d cry every time I heard it. So well done. I love you Ed Sheeran. (And Happy Birthday!!)

Ed Sheeran’s new album, ÷,  is set to be released on March 3rd.

