2007 was an incredible year for music of all genres. I know it practically seems like it was yesterday but surprise! 2007 was actually ten years ago. To commemorate the great year of music that was 2007, I have complied a list of my top ten favorite songs (in no particular order) that are now celebrating being ten years old. Get ready to feel super old.

1. Misery Business- Paramore
I decided to start this list off with a bang, aka one of the greatest songs that has ever come out of the punk-pop scene. “Misery Business” remained to be Paramore’s highest charting single ever, until the release of their song “Ain’t it Fun” in 2014. Released off the album RIOT!, this song was just pure teenage angst, and it was absolute perfection. You’re lying to yourself if you never head-banged to this song in the car. Not to mention, this song made literally every girl want to be Hayley Williams. A female lead singer of a punk rock band? Badass. Plus, her outfit in the music video was so cool, and I definitely can’t be the only one who wanted to die my hair like hers after I saw it. This song may be ten years old, but you can bet that I still hardcore jam to it every time I hear it (which is basically like three times a week).

2. Crank That (Soulja Boy) – Soulja Boy Tell ‘Em
I couldn’t make a list of the best songs from 2007 and not include “Crank That”. I’m gonna be perfectly honest, I’m not even sure what this song is about. I don’t really think anyone does. But it’s catchy, and it comes with its own dance, so obviously it was a huge success. You could not go to a middle school dance without this song being played, and somehow every single kid in that room knew how to do this dance, which is understandable, since a Youtube instructional video for the dance surpassed 27 million views by early 2008. It was also ranked number 21 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 100 best songs on 2007. And if its good enough for Rolling Stone, its good enough for me.

3. Apologize – Timberland ft. One Republic
There are just so many things that I love about this song. The piano, the violins, the beat, the lyrics. This was the perfect song to listen to when someone wronged you and you were just having the worst day ever. There was so much emotion in this song, and honestly I still feel that emotion when I listen to the song today. The lyric “I love you like a fire red, now it’s turning blue” is still just as good in 2017 as it was in 2007, and its probably one of the most powerful points of the song. This song was OneRepublic’s breakout song as well as their first-number one hit. It even earned the band a Grammy nomination.

4. Girlfriend- Avril Lavigne
Quite possibly the most iconic song of the year, “Girlfriend” was and remains to be, such a jam. First, you have Avril Lavigne, who just appears to be the most rebellious teenage girl in the entire world. Something about the hot pink streaks in her hair, her care-free attitude and her tom-boy outfits made every girl at the time aspire to be her. And then you have the actual song itself, which is so simple and so catchy, but at the same time so so good. The chorus is literally “hey hey you you, I don’t like your girlfriend,” but it was the most amazing thing at the time. The general idea of the song was Avril telling the guy she liked that he should leave his current girlfriend for her, because well, she’s just better. It seemed so rebellious and at the same time so empowering, every girl sang this song at the top of her lungs.

5. Stronger – Kanye West
I’m just gonna start this by saying, I’m not a huge fan of Kanye West. I will admit though, “Stronger” is a great song. So great, in fact, that I still listen to it when I run on the treadmill at the gym. Listening to this song just makes you feel like you can do absolutely anything you want to, and no one can get in the way. It’s honestly impossible to not nod your head to the beat of this song. Plus, the lyric “bow in the presence of greatness” just makes me feel like such a badass every time I hear it, and I think everyone can agree with that.

6. Umbrella – Rihanna ft. Jay Z
Yes, this song really is ten years old. 2007 was such a solid year for Rihanna, and she produced probably my favorite album of hers this year. And amongst the hits, was “Umbrella.” This song is so iconic, and she is literally just singing about an umbrella. I dare you to say you never sang the chorus of this song while holding an umbrella, because everyone did it. Everyone. Rihanna’s vocals are perfect for the song, simple and soft, but also having enough power in them to match the strong beat. Add Jay Z at the beginning, and you have yourself a hit.

7. Teenagers – My Chemical Romance
If there was an anthem that all middle school emo kids painted their nails black to, it was most definitely this song. MCR were practically the Kings of the scene, and this song helped them earn their crown. Even if you never went through a weird “emo phase,” or you don’t even know who My Chemical Romance is, you know this song. That memorable “teenagers scare the living sh*t out of me” lyric will never die, and lets be honest, its a pretty relevant statement.

8. Makes Me Wonder – Maroon 5
There really is nothing I love more than throwback Maroon 5, and “Makes Me Wonder” is a perfect example of why. This is just one of those songs that you can’t help but sing along to. It’s just so good. The guitar riffs combined with the synthesizer gives the song a funky 70s feel to it, and I don’t know about you but I can’t help but move when I hear this song. Adam Levine’s voice in this track is so silky and smooth, it’s just so nice to listen to. Which is why I still do, ten years later.

9. All-American Girl – Carrie Underwood
This was such a warm-hearted, lovely song. I’m not a big fan of country music, but this song is so sweet, I have to like it. The story-telling lyrics of a couple having a daughter, and watching that daughter go on in her life really is just so wholesome, pure and honestly, kind of beautiful. If you have never heard this song, I highly highly recommend listening to it. Just pay attention to the lyrics and the story it tells, and try telling me that this song isn’t any good. Carrie Underwood can do no wrong, and this is just the perfect of example of that.

10. Thnks Fr Th Mmrs – Fall Out Boy
I decided to round out this list the same way I started it: with a bang. Now, this may be slightly biased because this is my favorite band of all time. However, you can’t deny that “Thnks Fr Th Mmrs” really just is such a great song. The violin intro gives the song a bit of an eerie feel that gives you goosebumps at first, and Patrick Stump’s vocals proceeding it fit the vibe of the song perfectly. But as soon as that first chorus hits, its just like an explosion of awesomeness for your ears. I really love how the violins never leave the song. Even after the guitars, bass and drums start, the violins still are prominent in the background, and it really gives the song a unique sound. I will be thirty years old, and I guarantee this song will still make me want to fist pump, head bang, and sing the lyrics at the top of my lungs. Plus, Kim Kardashian was in the music video for this song, and that’s pretty cool right?

